Loyola University Chicago holds a separate commencement ceremony for each school and college, spread across one week in May at Gentile Arena on the Lake Shore Campus. The full schedule with times is already published, so you can book the exact day now. Each graduate receives six guest tickets. December graduates walk in May, and glitter and confetti are banned on campus.
Loyola Chicago commencement dates
| Ceremony | Date | Time | Venue |
|---|---|---|---|
| School of Education and School of Environmental Sustainability | 10 a.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| School of Continuing and Professional Studies and Institute of Pastoral Studies | 2 p.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| School of Communication and Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing | 10 a.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| Parkinson School of Health Sciences and Public Health and School of Social Work | 2 p.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| Quinlan School of Business (undergraduate) | 10 a.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| Quinlan School of Business (graduate) and The Graduate School | 2 p.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| College of Arts and SciencesThree sittings. Loyola shares the breakdown by major with students. | 9 a.m., 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. | Gentile Arena | |
| School of Law | 10 a.m. | Not stated on the schedule | |
| Stritch School of Medicine | 2 p.m. | Not stated on the schedule |
Source: Loyola University Chicago, Commencement ("Commencement Week, from Sunday, May 9, through Saturday, May 15, 2027", with each school's ceremony day and time), read on September 25, 2026. Times and venues are the university's own words; where a cell says not yet published, it has not been.
Get the alert when Loyola University Chicago’s booking window opens
We email you once, when rooms near campus start selling out (often 6–12 months ahead). No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
A week of ceremonies, and only one of them is yours
Loyola does not hold a single commencement. It holds a Commencement Week, and within it each school and college gets its own ceremony, usually paired with one other school in a morning or afternoon slot. The Graduate School shares an afternoon with graduate business students. Nursing shares a morning with Communication. Law and Medicine close the week on the Saturday.
That structure is the most useful thing to understand before you book anything. A family coming for a Nursing graduate needs one specific morning. A family coming for Education needs a different one, earlier in the week. Nobody needs the whole week, and a hotel booked Friday to Sunday “because graduations are at weekends” can miss the ceremony by days.
The good news is that Loyola has already published the complete schedule, with times, months ahead. Everything is in the table above. Find your graduate’s school, note the day and the time, and book around that.
If your graduate is in Arts and Sciences
The College of Arts and Sciences is too large for one ceremony, so it holds three on the same day: morning, early afternoon and early evening. Which one your graduate attends depends on their major, and Loyola shares that breakdown with students rather than on the public schedule.
Two things follow. First, ask your graduate which sitting they are in before you fix your travel, because the difference between a morning and an evening ceremony is the difference between arriving the day before and arriving that morning. Second, if you must book before you know, book the night before the college’s ceremony day. It covers all three sittings.
Six tickets, and nobody walks in without one
Every guest needs a ticket to enter Gentile Arena, and each graduate receives six. It is a fixed number, so the family conversation about who is coming is worth having early.
For guests who need accessible seating, there is space for the guest and one companion, and they can arrive up to 90 minutes before the start to get settled. A live interpreter is present at every ceremony, with an accessible seating area close by. Anyone who cannot travel can watch: each ceremony is streamed from its school’s page, beginning at the start time.
One rule to know before you pack: no glitter and no confetti anywhere on campus during Commencement Week. Loyola’s reason is the state of its grounds, and the rule is campus-wide, not just inside the arena.
No December ceremony
Loyola does not hold a ceremony for December graduates. A student who finishes at the end of the fall semester walks with their school in May. For a family, that means one trip a year to plan, and it is always this one.
Getting to Rogers Park
The Lake Shore Campus sits on Lake Michigan in Rogers Park, on the far north side of the city. The simplest way in is the CTA Red Line: its Loyola station is at the edge of campus, and the CTA lists it as accessible. For a family staying downtown or in Lakeview, the train is usually easier than looking for a parking space around the arena.
By car, downtown is about a quarter of an hour away with clear roads, and Evanston less than ten minutes, but those are the no-traffic figures. Chicago traffic on a weekday morning will stretch both, and several of these ceremonies start at ten o’clock on a weekday.
Where to sleep
The lodging question here has an unusual shape. There is exactly one hotel within walking distance of Gentile Arena: the Hampton Inn beside the Loyola CTA station, a quarter of a mile away, with 145 rooms and suites. It serves every school’s ceremony across the week, so the night you want depends on your graduate’s school. None of the nearby hotels publishes a graduation-week minimum stay or prepayment rule.
After that there is nothing close until Evanston, three to four miles north, where four hotels publish more than 700 rooms between them, among them the Hilton Orrington, the Graduate and the Hilton Garden Inn. Evanston is its own small city with a walkable centre, and for a family wanting a pleasant base it is the natural choice. Lakeview and Wrigleyville, about the same distance south, have smaller boutique hotels; check the Cubs home schedule before booking there. Downtown has the widest choice of all, at the cost of the longest trip in.
We have not measured commencement-week availability in any of these places, and the tables below say so. Because each school graduates on its own day, demand is spread thinner than it would be for a single ceremony. The Hampton Inn is the exception, and it is the room to book first.
The one hotel you can walk from, then Evanston
| Hotel | Min. stay | Prepayment | Cancellation / forfeit | Typical rate | How to book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hampton Inn Loyola Stationsourcecheck rates | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Online, hotel’s own site |
| Graduate Evanstonsourcecheck rates | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Online, hotel’s own site |
| Holiday Inn University Plaza Evanstonsourcecheck rates | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Online, hotel’s own site |
| Hilton Orrington Evanstonsource | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Online, hotel’s own site |
| Hilton Garden Inn Evanstonsourcecheck rates | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Online, hotel’s own site |
- Hampton Inn Loyola Station: 1209 W Albion Ave, beside the CTA Loyola station, a quarter of a mile from Gentile Arena. 6 floors, 145 rooms and suites (HotelGuides). The only hotel within walking distance of campus. No graduation-week rule published.
- Graduate Evanston: 1625 Hinman Ave, Evanston, about 3.4 miles north. 8 floors, 119 rooms and suites (HotelGuides). No graduation-week rule published.
- Holiday Inn University Plaza Evanston: 1501 Sherman Ave, Evanston, about 3.4 miles north. 12 floors, 159 rooms (HotelGuides). No graduation-week rule published.
- Hilton Orrington Evanston: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, about 3.5 miles north. 9 floors, 269 rooms (HotelGuides). No graduation-week rule published. No map pin: its geocoded address returned 404 on the Stay22 embed twice.
- Hilton Garden Inn Evanston: 1818 Maple Ave, Evanston, about 3.7 miles north. 6 floors, 178 rooms (HotelGuides). No graduation-week rule published.
Opens live availability around campus via our partner Stay22. Several of the properties above take graduation bookings only by phone, mail-in form, or lottery, so treat this as a price check against the rules in the table, not a replacement for them. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
North Shore and city, by drive time from Gentile Arena
| Town | Drive time | Typical availability | Rate vs. epicenter |
|---|---|---|---|
| Evanston, IL (Fountain Square)Check rooms in Evanston, IL (Fountain Square) → | 9 min | Not measured by us for commencement week. | Not rate-compared. |
| Wrigleyville and Lakeview, ChicagoCheck rooms in Wrigleyville and Lakeview, Chicago → | 10 min | Not measured by us for commencement week. | Not rate-compared. |
| Skokie, ILCheck rooms in Skokie, IL → | 12 min | Not measured by us for commencement week. | Not rate-compared. |
| Downtown Chicago (Magnificent Mile)Check rooms in Downtown Chicago (Magnificent Mile) → | 16 min | Not measured by us for commencement week. | Not rate-compared. |
Drive times are road-network durations from Gentile Arena with no traffic, computed on the OSRM public router on 25 September 2026; Chicago traffic will add to all of them. The CTA's Loyola station on the Red Line is at 1200 W. Loyola Ave., and the CTA lists it as accessible. We have not measured commencement-week availability in any of these places.
“Check rooms” are partner links (Stay22), and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Live availability near campus
Map and booking links are provided by our partner Stay22. We may earn a commission on bookings made through this map at no extra cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
When is Loyola Chicago graduation 2027?
Loyola holds ceremonies school by school across one week in May. The first is on Tuesday, May 11, 2027. The table on this page lists every school's day and start time as Loyola publishes them. Arts and Sciences, the largest college, has three sittings on one day, and Loyola tells students which sitting their major is in.
How many tickets do Loyola graduates get?
Six. Every guest needs a ticket to enter Gentile Arena, and each student receives six for their guests.
Does Loyola Chicago have a December graduation?
No. There is no ceremony specifically for December graduates. They are invited to walk with their school or college in May.
Can we bring confetti or glitter?
No. Loyola does not permit glitter or confetti anywhere on campus during Commencement Week.
Is there accessible seating at Gentile Arena?
Yes, for a guest and one companion. Guests who need it can arrive up to 90 minutes before the ceremony to get in early. A live interpreter works every ceremony, with accessible seating near them.
Can family watch online?
Yes. Each ceremony is livestreamed from its school or college page, starting at the ceremony's start time.
Where should we stay for Loyola graduation?
The Hampton Inn at the Loyola CTA station, a quarter of a mile from Gentile Arena, is the only hotel within walking distance. Evanston, three to four miles north, has the next cluster, including the Hilton Orrington, the Graduate and a Hilton Garden Inn.
How we verified this
Last verified:
- Loyola University Chicago, Commencement (schedule by school with times)
- Loyola University Chicago, Commencement FAQs
- CTA, Loyola station
- HotelGuides, hotels near Loyola University Chicago, with detail pages for room counts
This page is verified in two stages. Every fact is checked against the primary sources listed above, then the page is reviewed and signed off by our editor, A. Hassan. Corrections and enquiries: hello@graduationstay.com