UNA's catalog University Academic Calendar reads, for Spring 2027, "May 7 Friday - Close of term; Commencement Program" and "May 8 Saturday - Close of term; Commencement Program", and for Fall 2026, "December 11 Friday - Close of term; Commencement Program" and "December 12 Saturday - Close of term; Commencement Program". Each term's table ends: "All dates contained in this calendar are tentative and subject to change without prior notice." All four weekdays check. The registrar's FAQ: "Graduates are allowed a maximum of 7 guests. 7 digital guest passes will be issued to each graduate via their UNA email account from Glitnir Ticketing. All guests must have a digital pass to be seated." UNA's commencement page returned a server error at every check, so the venue, times and the Friday-versus-Saturday split are not stated here; the registrar's graduate-information page mentions Norton Auditorium only in an accessibility note. Read on 20 September 2026.
Get the alert when University of North Alabama’s booking window opens
We email you once, when rooms near campus start selling out (often 6–12 months ahead). No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
Two days each term, and a warning under each table
UNA’s University Academic Calendar, in the catalog, lists commencement as the close of term on two consecutive days. Spring 2027: “May 7 Friday - Close of term; Commencement Program” and “May 8 Saturday - Close of term; Commencement Program.” Fall 2026: “December 11 Friday - Close of term; Commencement Program” and “December 12 Saturday - Close of term; Commencement Program.” 7 May 2027 is a Friday, 8 May a Saturday; 11 December 2026 a Friday, 12 December a Saturday.
Under each term’s table: “All dates contained in this calendar are tentative and subject to change without prior notice.” Most universities publish future dates without that sentence. UNA publishes it, so this site carries the dates with the flag attached and recommends bookings you can cancel.
Seven passes, issued by email
From the registrar’s graduation FAQ, read on 20 September 2026: “Graduates are allowed a maximum of 7 guests. 7 digital guest passes will be issued to each graduate via their UNA email account from Glitnir Ticketing. All guests must have a digital pass to be seated.” Young children who can sit on an adult’s lap do not count against the seven and do not need a pass.
The venue, and why it is not stated
UNA’s commencement page returned a server error on every check for this site on 20 September 2026. The registrar’s pages that did load are about applying, regalia, honors and diplomas. One of them, the graduate-information page, carries an accessibility note: “Norton Auditorium will not have any assistive equipment for guests with limited mobility such as wheelchairs or walkers.” That is the only venue name on any readable page, and it appears as a caution rather than a statement of where commencement is held, so this page records it as a note and not as the venue. The research behind this cluster named Flowers Hall from the unreachable page; that is not carried either.
Programs in the seats, diplomas in the mail
Two practical lines from the graduate-information page: “Commencement programs will be in your seat at the commencement ceremony.” And: “Diplomas are not given at the commencement ceremonies. Diplomas will be mailed to you 4-6 weeks after the ceremony pending completion of degree requirements.” Guests requiring special assistance are asked to notify the registrar two weeks before.
Two nights, cancellable
The calendar gives two days and no split, so the safe booking is Thursday and Friday, cancellable, with one released when the schedule arrives. Florence has the Stricklin and the Hampton within a mile of campus and the Shoals’ chain cluster 11 minutes across the river. The where to stay page has them and the hour-long ring beyond.
Live availability near campus
Map and booking links are provided by our partner Stay22. We may earn a commission on bookings made through this map at no extra cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
When is UNA's Spring 2027 commencement?
Friday 7 and Saturday 8 May 2027, per the catalog's University Academic Calendar read on 20 September 2026, which lists a "Commencement Program" on both days and marks every date tentative. 7 May 2027 is a Friday and 8 May a Saturday.
When is the December round?
Friday 11 and Saturday 12 December 2026, per the same calendar, with the same tentative note. 11 December 2026 is a Friday and 12 December a Saturday.
Which day is my graduate's?
Not stated on the calendar. UNA's commencement page, which would carry the split by college or degree level, returned a server error on every check for this site. Ask your graduate for the schedule UNA sends candidates.
Where is the ceremony?
Not stated on any page this site could read. The registrar's graduate-information page says "Norton Auditorium will not have any assistive equipment for guests with limited mobility" in its accessibility note for the ceremonies, which is the only venue name on the readable pages; it is recorded here as that note, not as a confirmed venue.
Do we need tickets?
Yes. "Graduates are allowed a maximum of 7 guests. 7 digital guest passes will be issued to each graduate via their UNA email account from Glitnir Ticketing. All guests must have a digital pass to be seated." Lap children are exempt. Per the registrar's FAQ.
Why does this page say "tentative"?
Because the university does. "All dates contained in this calendar are tentative and subject to change without prior notice" follows each term's table. This site carries the dates and the flag together and recommends cancellable bookings until UNA removes it.
Do graduates get their diplomas on the day?
No. "Diplomas are not given at the commencement ceremonies. Diplomas will be mailed to you 4-6 weeks after the ceremony," per the registrar's graduate-information page. Programs are placed in graduates' seats.
How many nights?
Thursday and Friday, cancellable, until the Friday-or-Saturday question is answered. Florence has two hotels within a mile of campus; the where-to-stay page has them and the Shoals.
How we verified this
Last verified:
- UNA catalog, University Academic Calendar (Friday and Saturday "Commencement Program" rows for December 2026 and May 2027; "All dates contained in this calendar are tentative and subject to change without prior notice.")
- UNA Registrar, graduation FAQs ("Graduates are allowed a maximum of 7 guests"; Glitnir Ticketing digital passes; "All guests must have a digital pass to be seated.")
- UNA Registrar, graduate information (Norton Auditorium accessibility note; programs in seats; "Diplomas are not given at the commencement ceremonies")
This page is verified in two stages. Every fact is checked against the primary sources listed above, then the page is reviewed and signed off by our editor, A. Hassan. Corrections and enquiries: hello@graduationstay.com