Southeastern's commencement page gives the December round in full: "Saturday, December 12, 2026" at the "University Center 800 West University Avenue" in Hammond, "10 AM College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Education, Health and Human Sciences, Golden Grads" and "3 PM College of Business, College of Nursing, College of Science and Technology", each lasting "approximately one hour". 12 December 2026 is a Saturday. The spring round is one row on the registrar's academic calendar, "Commencement | May 15", a Saturday in 2027, and the same calendar states "This calendar is subject to change." The commencement office had not published Spring 2027 at this check. Treat 15 May as likely and unconfirmed, and hold hotel rooms for it only on cancellable rates. The commencement page also states that all attendees enter the University Center through bag check.

December: stated by the commencement office

Southeastern’s commencement page reads “Saturday, December 12, 2026” at the “University Center 800 West University Avenue”. 12 December 2026 is a Saturday. The registrar’s calendar agrees with “Commencement | Dec 12”. Two university pages, one date.

Two sittings: “10 AM College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Education, Health and Human Sciences, Golden Grads” and “3 PM College of Business, College of Nursing, College of Science and Technology.” Candidates assemble at 9 a.m. for the morning sitting. “Commencement will last approximately one hour,” and the page asks that everyone stay for the whole ceremony. Hold the Friday night for a 10 a.m. graduate.

Spring: a calendar row with a disclaimer

The registrar’s academic calendar for Spring 2027 lists “Commencement | May 15”, a Saturday. Directly on that calendar: “This calendar is subject to change.” The commencement office’s page had not been updated for spring at this check.

This site does not pretend that is a confirmed date. It is the university’s current plan, published with its own caution attached. The practical rule follows from the caution: hotel rooms for 14 and 15 May 2027 should be held on cancellable rates only, and flights bought late. When the commencement page states the spring round, the November review replaces this section.

Everyone goes through bag check

The commencement page states that all attendees enter the University Center through bag check. That is a standing rule, not a December-only one. Build twenty minutes into the arrival plan and leave large bags in the car.

Tickets: not stated yet

No ticket rule for December 2026 was found at this check on the commencement page or its FAQ. Southeastern posts guest guidance nearer the round; re-read both pages in November.

The rooms are three miles south

Hammond’s Courtyard, Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn sit about three miles from the University Center, and the university names none of them. The where to stay page has the three, the north-shore ring, and the note that Baton Rouge hosts LSU’s commencement in the same May week.

FARTHER FROM CAMPUS, MORE ROOMSon campusHammond (campus) ›Three chain hotels about three miles from the University Center, no room counts confirmed34 minCovington, LA ›Not measured for this cluster42 minMandeville, LA ›Not measured for this cluster57 minBaton Rouge, LA ›Not measured for this cluster59 minSlidell, LA ›Not measured for this cluster. An I-10/I-12 regional hotel market.
How far a family has to drive once Hammond itself is full. Drive times are stated on each rung and are not drawn to scale. Every figure here comes from the sources listed at the foot of this page. Each row opens live availability at that coordinate through our partner Stay22; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Live availability near campus

Map and booking links are provided by our partner Stay22. We may earn a commission on bookings made through this map at no extra cost to you.

Frequently asked questions

When is Southeastern's December 2026 commencement?

Saturday 12 December 2026 in the University Center, 800 West University Avenue, Hammond, per the commencement page read on 14 September 2026: 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. sittings by college. 12 December 2026 is a Saturday.

When is Spring 2027?

The registrar's academic calendar lists "Commencement | May 15", a Saturday. The same calendar says "This calendar is subject to change", and the commencement office had not published the spring round at this check. Likely, not confirmed.

Should we book hotels for May now?

Only on a cancellable rate. If the date holds you have the room; if it moves you release it free. Do not prepay.

What time are the ceremonies?

December: 10 a.m. for Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Education, Health and Human Sciences and Golden Grads; 3 p.m. for Business, Nursing, and Science and Technology; candidates assemble an hour before. Spring 2027: not published at this check.

Is there security screening?

Yes. The commencement page states all attendees enter the University Center through bag check. Arrive early.

Do we need tickets?

Not stated for December 2026 at this check. Check the commencement page and FAQ nearer the round.

How many nights?

The Friday night for December. For May, the same, on a free-cancellation rate. Hammond's three chain hotels are on the where-to-stay page with the north shore and Baton Rouge as overflow.

How we verified this

Last verified:

This page is verified in two stages. Every fact is checked against the primary sources listed above, then the page is reviewed and signed off by our editor, A. Hassan. Corrections and enquiries: hello@graduationstay.com

December 12, 2026 & May 15, 2027Partner linkSee live rooms →