Two rounds, and the near one is fully stated. EKU's own graduation guide says the Fall 2026 ceremonies "are scheduled for Thursday, December 10 and Friday, December 11, 2026, at the Baptist Health Arena at Alumni Coliseum", weekday cross-checked, with the per-college schedule to be added "at the beginning of each semester". SPRING 2027 needs reading with care. EKU's master calendar prints "Commencement May 14*", the asterisk meaning subject to change. That same calendar printed "May 8*" for Spring 2026, and the actual ceremonies ran Thursday 7 and Friday 8 May. The calendar's single date is the last day of a two-day round. So 14 May 2027 is the date EKU states, and a Thursday 13 May session is likely on the pattern but unpublished. Venue for spring is not stated. Because EKU itself flags the spring date as subject to change, book spring lodging only on a cancellable rate. Richmond's exit hotels are two miles from the arena and Lexington is 38 minutes north.

December is stated in full

EKU’s graduation guide gives the near round in one sentence: “The Fall 2026 Commencement ceremonies are scheduled for Thursday, December 10 and Friday, December 11, 2026, at the Baptist Health Arena at Alumni Coliseum.”

10 December 2026 is a Thursday and 11 December a Friday. Date, span and venue, all from the university, all consistent. The guide adds that specific ceremony details are posted at the beginning of each semester and emailed to graduates, so the college-by-day schedule for December should appear in the autumn.

Spring 2027: one date on the calendar, two days in practice

EKU publishes a single master calendar running from Fall 2025 to Summer 2030, and its Spring 2027 line reads *“Commencement May 14”**, with Finals Week at May 10 to 13 and a footnote: *“Dates subject to change.”

14 May 2027 is a Friday. That is the date EKU states, and this page records it.

But the calendar has a habit worth knowing. Its Spring 2026 line read “May 8”**, one date. EKU’s own news release for that round described “ceremonies on Thursday, May 7, and Friday, May 8”, two days. The calendar prints the last day of the round, not the whole round. The Fall 2026 line reads “Dec. 11” while the guide says Thursday 10 and Friday 11. Same pattern.

So the honest reading of “May 14” is: the round ends on Friday 14 May, and a Thursday 13 May session is likely and unpublished. This page keeps the two apart. The calendar’s date is the fact; the Thursday is the pattern.

And the asterisk carries its own instruction. *“Dates subject to change” is EKU telling you the spring date is not final. For lodging that means one thing: book spring rooms only on a cancellable rate. Early, because Richmond’s exit fills, but never non-refundable against a date the university has flagged.

What is not carried forward

The arena, for spring. It hosted December and Spring 2026 and is not stated for Spring 2027; this site does not publish expectations about buildings.

The ticket rule. Spring 2026 was six free guest tickets per graduate, reserved online from a set date, with unclaimed tickets released later. EKU says updated ticket details for later rounds will be added as they become available. Six is history until then.

The college-by-day schedule, for either round.

The exit and the interstate

Richmond’s chain hotels sit at the I-75 exit two miles from the arena, three of them with 92 to 97 rooms each. Lexington is 38 minutes north with a city’s worth. This is a less isolated cluster than most on this site, and the where to stay page says so; the reason to book early is the two-day pattern spreading families across two nights, not a shortage of towns.

FARTHER FROM CAMPUS, MORE ROOMSon campusRichmond (campus) ›Three hotels at the I-75 exit, 92 to 97 rooms each, two miles from the arena18 minBerea, KY ›Not measured for this cluster30 minWinchester, KY ›Not measured for this cluster38 minLexington, KY ›Not measured for this cluster
How far a family has to drive once Richmond itself is full. Drive times are stated on each rung and are not drawn to scale. Every figure here comes from the sources listed at the foot of this page. Each row opens live availability at that coordinate through our partner Stay22; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Live availability near campus

Map and booking links are provided by our partner Stay22. We may earn a commission on bookings made through this map at no extra cost to you.

Frequently asked questions

When is EKU's Fall 2026 commencement?

Thursday 10 and Friday 11 December 2026, at the Baptist Health Arena at Alumni Coliseum, per EKU's graduation and commencement guide as read on 12 September 2026. Both weekdays check out.

When is Spring 2027?

EKU's master calendar prints "Commencement May 14*" for Spring 2027, a Friday, with the asterisk meaning dates are subject to change. On EKU's own pattern that is the last day of a two-day round, so plan for Thursday 13 and Friday 14 May until the university publishes the schedule.

Why do you say two days when the calendar says one?

Because that is what happened in 2026. The calendar printed "May 8*"; EKU's news release described "ceremonies on Thursday, May 7, and Friday, May 8". The calendar is shorthand. This page records the calendar's date and the pattern separately rather than merging them.

Which day is my graduate's ceremony?

Not published for either round. EKU assigns colleges to days and times; the guide says specific ceremony details are added at the beginning of each semester and emailed to graduates.

Where is it held?

December 2026: the Baptist Health Arena at Alumni Coliseum, 641 Eastern Bypass, stated by EKU. Spring 2027: not published. The arena hosted Spring 2026 too, but this page does not carry it forward for spring without a statement.

How many guest tickets?

Unknown for both rounds. The Spring 2026 rule was six free guest tickets per graduate, reserved online, with unclaimed tickets released later. That is history; EKU says updated ticket details will be added as they become available.

How many nights?

The night before your ceremony day, and both nights until the college schedule posts, on cancellable rates only for spring, since EKU marks that date "subject to change". Richmond's three exit hotels hold about 280 rooms and are five minutes from the arena; Lexington is the deep fallback.

How we verified this

Last verified:

This page is verified in two stages. Every fact is checked against the primary sources listed above, then the page is reviewed and signed off by our editor, A. Hassan. Corrections and enquiries: hello@graduationstay.com

December 10–11, 2026 & May 14, 2027Partner linkSee live rooms →