UW-Whitewater is ahead of most universities on this site. Its parent and family page already lists "May 15 - Whitewater Campus - 10 a.m." and "May 15 - Whitewater Campus - 3 p.m." for Spring 2027, and "Dec. 19 - Commencement - 10 a.m." for the December round, with both dates on the registrar's 2026-27 calendar as "May 15 (Sa)" and "December 19 (Sa)". Both weekdays check out. What is not published is which colleges walk at which sitting and the venue; Spring 2026 used Kachel Fieldhouse for both sittings and this page does not carry it forward. One trap on the same page: "May 18 - Rock County Campus - 6:30 p.m." is a separate ceremony in Janesville, not the Whitewater one. And the lodging is the story here: 173 hotel rooms in town against more than 1,730 graduates in 2026.

Published early, and in detail

Most universities on this site have a date and nothing else nine months out. UW-Whitewater has the date and the hours.

Its parent and family page lists, for Spring 2027: “May 15 - Whitewater Campus - 10 a.m.” and “May 15 - Whitewater Campus - 3 p.m.” The registrar’s 2026-27 academic calendar carries the same day as “Commencement May 15 (Sa)”.

15 May 2027 is a Saturday. Two sources, one date, weekday consistent. This is as settled as a spring date gets at this range.

What the two sittings mean

A morning sitting and an afternoon sitting on one Saturday is how a campus of this size gets 1,700 graduates through one building. Which colleges take which sitting is not yet assigned for 2027. In May 2026 the 10 a.m. sitting took Arts & Communication with Business & Economics, and the 3 p.m. took Education & Professional Studies with the rest.

For a family: the Friday night is the night for everyone. The 3 p.m. families are the ones who also want the Saturday, because a ceremony that ends late in the afternoon with photographs and dinner after it does not send anyone home.

The venue is not stated, and the trap is on the same page

The 2026 ceremonies were in Kachel Fieldhouse on campus. Nothing published names the 2027 venue, and this page does not assume it.

The same parent and family page that gives the Whitewater sittings also lists “May 18 - Rock County Campus - 6:30 p.m.” That is a separate ceremony, on a Tuesday evening, for the Rock County campus in Janesville. It is not the Whitewater commencement, and a family that books around it, or books Janesville assuming it is quiet that week, has the wrong event.

December is one sitting

Saturday 19 December 2026 at 10 a.m., per the parent and family page, with “Commencement December 19 (Sa)” on the registrar’s calendar. One sitting, no venue stated. The Friday night is the one, and the holidays are on top of it.

The lodging problem is the whole problem

Whitewater has three hotels and 173 rooms. The campus graduated more than 1,730 in May 2026. That is the where to stay page in one line, and its conclusion is that most families stay in Fort Atkinson or Janesville and drive in.

FARTHER FROM CAMPUS, MORE ROOMSon campusWhitewater (campus) ›173 rooms in three hotels, all on the university's own list18 minFort Atkinson, WI ›Not measured for this cluster36 minJanesville, WI ›Not measured for this cluster45 minWatertown, WI ›Not measured for this cluster55 minBeloit, WI ›Not measured for this cluster
How far a family has to drive once Whitewater itself is full. Drive times are stated on each rung and are not drawn to scale. Every figure here comes from the sources listed at the foot of this page. Each row opens live availability at that coordinate through our partner Stay22; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Live availability near campus

Map and booking links are provided by our partner Stay22. We may earn a commission on bookings made through this map at no extra cost to you.

Frequently asked questions

When is UW-Whitewater's Spring 2027 commencement?

Saturday 15 May 2027, with sittings at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m., per the university's parent and family page as read on 13 September 2026. The registrar's 2026-27 calendar lists "Commencement May 15 (Sa)". Both agree, and 15 May 2027 is a Saturday.

Which sitting is my graduate's?

Not yet assigned for 2027. In May 2026 the 10 a.m. sitting took Arts & Communication and Business & Economics, and the 3 p.m. took Education & Professional Studies and the others. Expect a similar split; wait for the 2027 list.

Where is it held?

Not stated for 2027. The May 2026 ceremonies were in Kachel Fieldhouse on campus, per UW-Whitewater's news. This page records that as history rather than as the 2027 venue.

When is the December round?

Saturday 19 December 2026 at 10 a.m., per the parent and family page, with "Commencement December 19 (Sa)" on the registrar's calendar. One sitting; venue not stated.

Is the Rock County campus ceremony the same event?

No. The same page lists "May 18 - Rock County Campus - 6:30 p.m.", a Tuesday evening ceremony in Janesville for that campus. This cluster is the Whitewater campus only.

How big is the class?

More than 1,730 graduates from the Whitewater campus in May 2026, per the university's news. Used for scale; the 2027 figure is not published.

How many nights?

The Friday night for everyone, and the Saturday night too if your sitting is the 3 p.m. Whitewater's three hotels hold 173 rooms, so most families are in Fort Atkinson or Janesville either way.

How we verified this

Last verified:

This page is verified in two stages. Every fact is checked against the primary sources listed above, then the page is reviewed and signed off by our editor, A. Hassan. Corrections and enquiries: hello@graduationstay.com

December 19, 2026 & May 15, 2027Partner linkSee live rooms →